Joe Martin, EPZ Omloop van Borsele, Dwars door de Westhoek and Trofeo Lazzarati round up, forthcoming races + more

Sources: Gila, Gracia Orlova, Elsy Jacobs, Tour de Yorkshire, Aviva Tour of Britain, PostNord DK Rundt, others linked throughout text.

Coryn Rivera (UHC) pipped team mate Linda Villumsen by 2 seconds to take the overall Joe Martin Stage Race win. Lauren Stephens of Tibco-SVB came in third. The top ten was completed by Brianne Walle (Tibco), Scotti Lechuga (HB Supermint), Nina Laughlin (Visit Dallas DNA), Eri Yonamine (HB), Sara Tussey (DNA), Emily Mary Collins (Tibco) and Heather Fischer (Rally). Jessenia Meneses of Shimano Ladies Power continued her string of best young rider wins, and reached twelfth overall.  Full results for the GC and all four stages can be found here. Most UCI teams are now heading to the Tour of the Gila, which starts tomorrow (27th April).

A slightly depleted line up at EPZ Omloop van Borsele saw Barbara Guarischi (Canyon SRAM) beat Floortje Mackaij (Liv Plantur) and Christine Majerus (Boels Dolmans) respectively to take the win. BTC City Ljubljana’s Eugenia Bujak notably came in a very close fifth, no doubt in preparation for Gracia Orlova where she was third overall last year behind Alena Amialiusik and Trixi Worrack (both Canyon SRAM). Full results can be found here (PDF), short video highlights can be found here.

The following day at Dwars door de Westhoek Majerus rode perfect race to take the win over Elena Cecchini (Canyon SRAM) and Emma Johansson (Wiggle H5). This puts Johansson back at the top of the Lotto Cycling Cup overall, with Marta Bastianelli (Ale Cipollini) second and Majerus third. Full results of the race here, Lotto standings here (PDF). The finale was overshadowed by what looked at first like a serious fall for Marianne Vos in the sprint for the finish, but RaboLiv confirm she did not suffer any fractures and will make a quick recovery.

And yesterday Bastianelli picked up a useful win at GP della Liberzione Pink -Trofeo Lazaretti, with Kimberley Wells (Colavita Bianchi) second and Astana’s Arianna Fidanza third. Full results here, race report from here.

Teams now have a buffet of stage races to look forward to this week. Many teams who have been shut out of podium places so far now have a chance to shine at the Tour of the Gila in the US (27th April to 1st May), Gracia Orlava in the Czech Republic (28th April to 1st May) and Festival Elsy Jacobs in Luxemborg (29th April to 1st May). There is also the one day Asda Tour de Yorkshire race on Saturday 30th April. Short previews coming soon. EDIT yes I know now, Tour of the Gila is next week starting 4th May.

The Postnord Danmark Rundt has added a women’s criterium race to be held on the 28th July, the same day as stage 2 of the men’s race and with the same prize money for the stage. In a press release Tina Dideriksen, chair of national cycling union women’s committee, said:

“PostNord (chose) the level of premiums should be identical to the men’s stage prize, it is really a sensation in Denmark. I do not think it’s seen before, and it is we in the committee very excited. International efforts are diligently improving conditions for female riders, and I’m obviously very proud of the signal PostNord Ladies Criterium sends to the outside world. It’s a great thing. It is a good beginning that women get a criterion in the men’s PostNord Tour of Denmark. The dream is that in the future we run an independent PostNord Ladies Tour for women, also in collaboration with the UCI race, already established in Sweden and Norway. “

The Gary Verity effect 😉

Hanna Nilsson of Lensworld Zannata Etixx will be out for a little while as she undergoes an operation for a persistant knee injury. 

The Aviva Women’s Tour has released more detailed route information, which you can find here. Today they also revealed the teams taking part are Wiggle H5, Boels Dolmans, RaboLiv, Canyon SRAM, Orica AIS, Cervelo Bigla, Hitec, Liv Plantur, Cylance, UHC, Ale Cipollini, BTC City Ljubljana, Astana and three more but I don’t know who because they are dragging out releasing each name every five minutes at this time of writing 🙁 Check their twitter for the full line up.